Herb Beauty

img_8586

Ever since I have visited the Huntington Library’s herb garden, I have always dreamed of having one in my little side yard. Herbs are so beautiful and practical, not to mention the aroma and the healing benefit they provide. But since I am neither a chef nor a gardener, that dream may take years to realize.

My friend  gave me some rosemary and mint twigs this afternoon. After hubby replanted some (there were a lot due to the recent rain) I have decided to play with drying the rest of the rosemary myself. I couldn’t believe how many YouTube how-to’s out there on the drying topic. After watching about three short videos I decided to run a little experiment myself – with microwave drying, toaster oven drying, convention oven drying and the traditional way of drying by hanging up the twigs.
When the experiment is concluded I will write another post on my preference of the drying method. Until then here is the little mint bouquet I made for you to enjoy! It smells so good and I can pick them to put in my tea whenever I want.

The little herb garden may happen after all, with hubby’s help and with these two starter plants. I am grateful and excited!

And God said, Let the earth bring forth grass, the herb yielding seed, [and] the fruit tree yielding fruit after his kind, whose seed [is] in itself, upon the earth: and it was so.  ~ Genesis 1:11

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

